State requirements for 190 visa (2020-21 Year)

UPDATED on 4 September 2020

The Department has provided the MIA with the specific number of interim allocated places for each State and Territory for subclasses 190, 491 and the Business Innovation and Investment program, please see below

State & Territory sc 190 sc 491 & 489 BIIP
ACT 250 45 4
NSW 550 150 200
VIC 600 200 400
QLD 200 200 160
NT 80 80 5
WA 200 40 70
SA 300 600 180
TAS 250 400 5
Total 2430 1715 1024

190 visa is points based and allows skilled workers who are nominated by an Australian state or territory government live and work in Australia as a permanent resident.

Below is a summary of the state requirements for the 190 visa.

New South Wales 190 visa criteria

NSW will no longer invite candidates who reside in another Australian state or territory.

NSW will shortly commence their invitation round for subclass 190 visa nominations (no set date). However, NSW will only be inviting applicants who are in NSW and are in the health, ICT and engineering industry.

You must first submit an EOI on SkillSelect. If you are successful, NSW will invite you to apply for the NSW nomination.

Victoria 190 visa criteria

To support Victoria’s economic recovery and health response, there have been new changes to the nomination program. This program will open on the 8 September 2020. From 8 September 2020 until 5 October 2020, Victoria will only select applicants who are working in health or medical research and are contributing to Victoria’s economic recovery and/or health response.


  • You must first register your interest for Victorian State Nomination by 21 September 2020.
  • You must be living in Victoria.
  • You must already be working in Victoria for at least 6 months.
  • You must be working in health or medical research which supports Victoria’s economic recovery.

Please see here in more detail.

Australian Capital Territory 190 visa criteria

The Australian government has directed ACT to nominate those who can support the economic recovery post-COVID. As such, you must meet the following criteria before you apply for the nomination:

  • Resided in Canberra for at least 6 months
  • One of the following:
    • Nominated occupation is on the ACT Critical Skills List, OR
    • A primary holder of a subclass 457/482 visa sponsored by an ACT employer:
      • You have worked in Canberra for the sponsor for at least 6 months
      • The visa must have a minimum of 12 months validity at time of nomination application.
    • Must be working for an ACT employer in Canberra for at least 6 months (must be paid employment, and for a minimum of 35 hours per week).

You can find the ACT Critical Skills List here.

Please see the ACT nomination criteria in more detail here.

Western Australia 190 visa criteria

WA state nomination program is currently suspended. WA will not be issuing invitations during this period.

Northern Territory 190 visa criteria

The Australian government has not yet allocated NT with nomination quota. As such, no invitation will be issued during this period.

Queensland 190 visa criteria

The Australian government has not yet allocated QLD with nomination quota. As such, no invitation will be issued during this period.

Tasmania 190 visa criteria

Tasmania has been allocated nomination quota by the Australian government. However, from now until October, to be eligible, your occupation must be critical in supporting Tasmania’s response to COVID-19 pandemic. This includes:

  • individual providing critical or specialist medical services, or
  • individual with critical skills required to maintain the supply of essential goods and services, or
  • individual who are involved in delivering services in sectors critical to Australia’s economic recovery

International graduates who do not work in the critical area would be unlikely to receive a nomination at this stage.

South Australia 190 visa criteria

South Australian (SA) Government has recently announced new changes to their nomination process. As you would know, COVID-19 has drastically changed the migration policy for the 2020-21 year. As such, applicants who are in the critical sectors will be prioritised. This year, SA has introduced concessions and waivers for eligible applicants.

Talent and Innovators Program

This is a new program which will allow SA to nominate applicants under three streams. There will be an employment stream, independent talent stream and small business and start up stream. More information will be published in October 2020.

Currently working in SA

This program is also divided into three categories.

Currently working in SA

If you are presently working in SA, you may be eligible for this priority program. More information will be available in October 2020.

Currently living and working in outer regional SA

You must be working in your nominated occupation in outer regional SA for at least 15 hours per week. Eligible postcodes can be found here.

International Graduate of SA

As an international graduate of SA, you may be eligible for priority stream as well. Below are the requirements:

  • Your SA qualification must be in the same field as your skills assessment and nominated occupation.
  • The course must be CRICOS registered and a minimum of 46 weeks,
  • At least 50% of the degree is completed in SA.
  • Must have resided at least 1 year during your study.
  • Must have continued to reside in SA after graduating.
  • Must be currently working in your nominated occupation for the last 3 months in SA. However, if you are a high performing graduate and/or has high English proficiency, you may be eligible for a work experience waiver.

Above are the new priority program available to visa applicant.

Please see here in more detail.

Select a state below to see it’s 190 visa requirements:

Australia Placeholder

State and territory requirements

Each state and territory has its own list of occupations, requirements and processes you must follow.

More information about the requirements and processes on how Australian states or territories nominate applicants is available.